Notre Dame athletic teams and administrative units combined to adopt 31 local families and present more than $15,000 worth of holiday gifts Sunday in the athletics department 2011 Adopt-A-Family program. Here are the specifics:

-- Eighteen (18) Notre Dame athletic teams adopted families: hockey, women’s soccer, baseball, women’s lacrosse, volleyball, men’s lacrosse, softball, men’s and women’s golf, women’s tennis, football, men’s basketball, men’s track and field distance runners, women’s track and field women’s distance runners, track and field throwers, track and field jumpers, track and field sprinters, student managers, rowing (Martin Stone family).
-- Nine (9) offices from the athletics department adopted families: Joyce Center housekeeping, Karen Demeter, crowd control, equipment, media relations, athletic director’s office, HR and legal services, external affairs, Compton Family Ice Arena, Rec Sports.
-- Four (4) outside sources that adopted families included HomeWorks, the Irish Figure Skating Club, the football coaches’ wives and the Compton family.
-- Outside donors that provided major financial contributions included the Compton family, the Diaco family and Catering by Design.
-- In total, the athletics department adopted 31 families from the Perley Primary Fine Arts Academy and the Monroe Primary Center. The project involved 109 children--and 98 kids and 48 adults from these families spent two hours Sunday at the Compton Family Ice Arena, enjoying skating, carnival-type games, a free dinner donated by Catering by Design, plus visits from Santa, Mrs. Claus, elves, a skating snowman, the leprechaun, cheerleaders. Each family was also given a $100 gift card to Meijer courtesy of the Comptons and Diacos and their generous donations. 
-- Athletes from the following Notre Dame teams came to the Compton to enjoy the day with their adopted families: hockey, women’s soccer, baseball, women’s lacrosse, volleyball, softball, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s tennis, football, track and field (jumpers, throwers, sprinters, men’s distance, women’s distance), and student managers.
-- Many Irish coaches were attendance, including Martin Stone, Chris Halfpenny, Kevin Corrigan and the men’s lacrosse staff, Debbie Brown, Susan Holt, Kyle Veltri, Andy Slaggert, Jeannette Boudway, Jay Louderback, Kelcy Tefft, Jo Minton, and Jacob Flint.
-- Representatives from the athletics department administration included Christine Nielson, Jim Smith, Donna Major, Jennie Phillips, Juli Schreiber, Tony Yelovich, Lauren Fenlon, Ann Mason, Kevin Duggan, Ryan Boudway, Kathryn Coneys, Missy Conboy, Jenny Borg, Sharon Hawkins, Tom Nevala, Mike McNeill, Brad Aldrich, Michelle Mensik, Amanda Osborn, and David Sullivan. Also present were representatives from HomeWorks and the Irish Figure Skating Club.

Other news