Two ND women were elected to prominent roles in the Michigan State Legislature. Christine Greig '85 was elected to her third term as State Representative for District 37 and was also elected by her Democratic colleagues to serve as the House Democratic Leader. She is only the 2nd women to hold this position. Mallory McMorrow '08 was elected to the State Senate to represent Senate District 12 in Oakland County.

Christina Dunn ’07 has launched DressStrong, whose signature product was born after a windy evening, an outdoor barbecue, and a Marilyn Monroe moment. With the help of her brother-in-law and former ND Classmate Peter McCullough, Dunn created a reusable, recyclable steel dress weight. Read more about her story here or @DressWeights. 

Local Alumnae Activities. Here's a small sample of the many events  that took place throughout the late fall and early winter.

NDWC Detroit enjoying a pizza classNDWC Orange County put together holiday care packages for the ACE students living in Santa Ana.

NDWC Philadephia gathered for a cookie exchange and toy drive (pictured).

The women of NDWC Detroit enjoyed an evening expanding their culinary skills.

And NDWC Flint hosted a Project Mom baby shower.

Send pictures of your events to your NDWC Regional Director and see them featured here in upcoming newsletters.


Congratulations to Our Outstanding Alumnae, Faculty, and Female Students. We're proud of your many accomplishments! Cheers to:

  • Gail Thomas McKenna '71 M.A. received this year's ND Senior Alumni service award.
  • On Sunday, November 4th Deb Boulac ‘93 became the first woman in 30 years to be the lead producer for a CBS SportsNFL broadcast of Houston’s 19-17  win over Denver.
  • Chloe Gibbs ’00, an assistant professor in the Department of Economics, has been awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation for her project, Parenting, Preschool, and the Production of School Readiness and Later Academic Outcomes. Her work is focused on determining how preschool can best prepare those children for kindergarten and for success later in life.
  • Ailbhe Darcy’s (MFA ’11 Ph.D ‘15) new volume of poetry, Insistence, has been shortlisted for the prestigious T.S. Eliot Prize in Poetry. A poet, critic, and professor, she teaches contemporary Irish poetry and literature at Cardiff University.
  • Mary McGraw '17, a studio art major with a photography concentration, spent her study abroad experience with eight Benedictine nuns at Kylemore Abbey in Galway, Ireland, and began a project that led to her senior thesis. View her project here. 
  • Seniors Sofia Carozza and Katie Gallagher have been named 2019 Marshall Scholars. Carozza, of South Bend, Indiana, will study neuroscience at the University of Cambridge. Gallagher, of Naperville, Illinois, will study math at the University of Oxford. They are the University’s eighth and ninth Marshall Scholars overall and two of 10 Notre Dame students awarded one of the prestigious open-discipline British scholarships — Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell and Gates Cambridge — since 2013.
  • A Record number of Notre Dame students received the U.S. Department of State’s Benjamin A. Gilman  Scholarships to study abroad. Among the recipients are Pyschology major Meklit Zenabu ’20, of Ohio, who will study in Jerusalem.
  • Fresh off her appearance with the U-20 Women's National Team, Brianna Martinez ’22 was named to the Top Drawer Soccer Postseason Top-100 Freshmen List!
  • Rebecca Tinio McKenna, Assistant Professor of History, and Sarah McKibben, Associate Professor of Irish Language and Literature have been awarded NEH fellowships, continuing record funding for humanities research. During the 2019-20 academic year, McKenna will continue her research on the history of the piano and McKibben will continue her research on bardic poetry in Ireland, for which she also won a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies in early 2018.
  • Jennifer Tank, Ludmilla F., Stephen J. and Robert T. Galla Professor of Biological Sciences, Director, Notre Dame Environmental Change Initiative, is the 2018 recipient of the Media Legend Award. Presented annually since 2004, the Media Legend Award recognizes a faculty member who consistently brings attention to the University’s academic excellence through participation in media relations, the Web and other communications channels.

Do you know an ND woman who should be on this list? Let us know!

Other news